Missouri Athletic Commission Overturns Evinger VS Kunitskaya Bout 

If you’re a Tonya Evinger or a member of TeamFilthy then today’s a good day for you. If you’re however Yana Kunitskaya or anybody in her team not so much.

On November 18th InvictaFC hosted their 20th event. It was a stacked card with what should’ve been a stellar main event for the bamtamweight title. It was however tarnished when it ended it a controversial way.

If you watched the fight you would know that it ended at 1:58 of the first round when Kunitskaya applied an armbar to Evinger getting the submission victory.
However Evinger appealed the decision of the bout earlier this month due to misinterpretation of the rules by referee Mike England. The defending champion used a perfectly legal defense of the armbar by pushing her foot on the face of Kunitskaya to gain leverage for an escape. This was deemed illegal by the referee and in forcing her to move Kunitskaya was able to sink the amber in deeper.

The only way the defense by Evinger would’ve been illegal is if she would’ve striked Kunitskaya with her foot while she was down but at no point did that happen.
So what does this all mean? Well now that the bout has been overturned  Evinger is still the champion and further more her five year undefeated streak is still intact. Here’s what she had to say about the situation.
It is no surprise that this decision is already receiving some backlash. What do you guys think was the right call made? Let us know. One can only assume it’s a matter of time before we see Evinger and Kunitskaya squaring off again.?